Interview with Raven McAllan

 

 

Good morning all! Today I have the pleasure of hosting an ARe Best Selling Author and a fellow worker bee for Breathless Press. Raven McAllan is a very talented writer who finds time to take us Newbies under her wing. I’m very excited to have her on my blog this morning to give us all a little glimpse into her life, her writing processes, and an excerpt from her work that will be sure to curl your toes in the same way coming across a hot guy or a yummy chocolate covered sundae will.  Hmm…Sundaes… Okay, so before I go raid the freezer this early in the morning…sit back, relax, and enjoy spending the morning with Raven…

Image

Stop my muses and give me a break.

I almost called this stop the world I want to get off, but of course I don’t. I just want to draw breath.

Sometimes things go haywire and my characters jump up and down like demented gnats, shouting and hollering. I ignore them at my peril.

 Take this week for instance. I was half way through a short story when all of a sudden, the characters went sulky. They weren’t happy with me, and wouldn’t say why. It wasn’t writers block more like writers ponder. As in Hmm, is this going they right way…

(If that sounds weird, you’re not a pantster like me.)

But luckily I did have characters shouting in my ear. From another story.

This just flew, and I mean flew. As I have fibromyalgia, and my fingers don’t always do as I think I’m telling them (Oh, not in a wash your mouth out way), to write nigh on 10k in a day is phenomenal. Okay I had a lot of head scratching at what I’d meant to type. I mean whoever would have guessed that ‘ohwnomimq’ was really phenomena? Or ‘nzanswr’ master? It takes a special person to decipher ravenfingers!

Nevertheless I did it, and emerged triumphant. And the best bit bout it all, was once I’d finished that m/s, I reread the first one, and wow finished it without a problem.

Taking a step back really helped.

Don’t you just think sometimes, we just worry and over analyze things so much you lose what you were aiming for? I’ve discovered I need to take a deep breath, stand back and dance in the rain. Breath the fresh air, and stay calm.

I will not bite my nails (much) jump when the emails croak (mine sound like a frog) and freak when someone talks grammar!

Instead I’ll celebrate how darned lucky I’ve been with my submissions, and releases. And leave you a wee taste of one of my favorite Breathless Press books. The Baronet’s Blackout Bombshell.

As I said in the dedication, it was based on stories about World war Two, my mum told me though she was never caught without her knickers on!

 

Your past has a habit of catching up with you.

Bare assed climbing a wall would be one of those times, naturally.

 

Chrissie thought her humiliation was complete when Baronet Archie pulled out of their engagement. However meeting him again when she is attempting to break back into her temporary residence takes embarrassment to new heights. Will he turn her in to her boss or do the gentlemanly thing?

Archie had never forgotten his little bombshell. Being so visibly reminded of her attributes, makes him determined to make up for his past mistakes.

There is nothing quite like a war going on to remind you that life is short and there for the taking.

Can he convince Chrissie that he’s here to stay, or will circumstances drive them apart once more

Excerpt

 

“For Christ Sake Archie” Chrissie burst out, forgetting Archie had no idea who she was. “Stop gawking like a barrow boy at my bits and pieces and help me down! Can’t you see I’m stuck here?”

“Oh er, well now then. Right oh… But you’ll owe me. And do I know you?”

Bugger! Chrissie realized, the darkness only hid her identity, not her body. Which he obviously enjoyed seeing. The thought made he go very warm, and wet!

“Well not all of me, no” she drawled, forgetting the sloppier accent she had deliberately cultivated, so as not to seem out of place. Or snobbish. Her parents may be; but both she and Merle were much more in tune with normality.

In the dim light from the mostly covered headlights she saw Archie move directly under her, saw he found where she had got her skirt caught, and swiftly unhooked it. Then slowly and with a sigh ofgreat satisfaction, slid her down his body, so first her legs and then her behind rubbed over his erection. As her feet hit the ground, Chrissie tensed. Could she make a run for it? Would he even recognize her in the dark?

He must have guessed what she intended to do, because he took a firm grip, before spinning her around as he firmly grabbed her behind and pulled her firmly to him, his erection throbbing between her legs as he pressed firmly.

Chrissie’s legs opened involuntarily. Her skirt still firmly hitched around her waist, there was very little between her now moist wet curls she was sure Archie had glimpsed, and his throbbing cock. It was a choice between who was the most aroused!

There was no room for thought. Archie’s hand moved unerringly to that sensitive spot between her legs! And pressed. Just as she liked it. Chrissie whimpered.

“You like that don’t you?” She felt Archie move his fingers and slip one inside her.

 

nosy links...

 

Raven lives in Scotland, along with her husband and their two cats—their children having flown the nest—surrounded by beautiful scenery, which inspires a lot of the settings in her books.

She is used to sharing her life with the occasional deer, red squirrel, and lost tourist, to say nothing of the scourge of Scotland—the midge.

A lover of reading, she appreciates the history inside a book, and the chance to peek into the lives of those from years ago. Raven admits that she enjoys the research for her books almost as much as the writing; so much so, that sometimes she realizes she’s strayed way past the information she needs to know, and not a paragraph has been added to her WIP.

Her lovely long-suffering husband is learning to love the dust bunnies, work the Aga, and be on stand-by with a glass of wine.

 

You can find out more about Raven here…

 

 

http://www.ravenmcallan.com

http://www.ravenmcallan.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/rmcallan (my page)

https://www.facebook.com/ravenmcallan       (author page)

https://twitter.com/RavenMcAllan

 

 

 

 So let’s play… What do you think you’d have missed during WW2 ( and I’m not talking internet and cell phones here, I’m talking basics)  One lucky commenter will win one of my Breathless Press books of their choice

4 thoughts on “Interview with Raven McAllan

  1. thsnks for Invitig me K, and those very kind words of introduction *blushes* … have a great day…

  2. Jacqui Thomson says:

    I would have missed many things but mostley proper fresh white bread and coffee. dont know if I could have gotten through the day without my yummy toast and coffee

Leave a Reply

